Categories
1:48 Aircraft

Tamiya He-219 “Uhu” (Part 5)

After a little over two months on the workbench, Tamiya’s 1997 Uhu has finally been completed. All things considered, I’m very happy with the result. Ever since I returned to the Model building I’ve been slowly adding techniques and procedures back into my repertoire. Tamiya’s Uhu was a lot of firsts for me, First time using oil washes, first time trying chipping effects, first time using VMS products, and first time rigging aircraft. While I was comfortable with these techniques prior to my modeling hiatus they were new to me upon returning and had to be re-learnt.

I made some significant mistakes along the way as well, notably not leaving enough time for the VMS decal setting solution to cure before spraying the satin coat and therefore wrinkling the otherwise perfect decals. Another problem I encountered was that the canopy did not seal perfectly with the fuselage causing overspray to get up inside the cockpit, something that I’ll need to look out for next time around. I also used the exhaust flame hiders as a “test run” for future German AFV exhausts. I’m not happy with how they turned out but that’s not the point, the goal was to find out what worked and what didn’t and now I know for the future how to improve.

As for the model itself I’m definitely happy with how some additions enhanced the model. Eduard Models’ Resin wheel set definitely added some pop to the final product and I was pleased with where I was able to get them for the final product. The Master Models Fug-220 Radar set also really enhances the front of the kit.

As for the weathering and finishing on the model, I used Abteilung 502 oils for an initial dark brown/black wash. I also opted to highlight some select panels with the airbrush. I used Mig Productions Oil and Grease as well as their Fuel stains product as well. The aircraft was painted with Vallejo Model air Grauweiss and Grauviolet for the spots. It was sealed with VMS’s Satin and Matte clear coats.

That’s a wrap!

Leave a comment